OUT OF YOUR MIND

Mind is a very powerful and complex thing in any human being. Its power is so large and so infinite that it is beyond any one’s imagination. It can make you the most powerful person in the world as well as crush you completely from the inside. I have been suffering a lot lately because of the way my mind works. I knew that certain things were beyond my control and despite that I lost hundreds of hours thinking about them and suffered heavily. The most undesirable thing that can happen to a human being was happening to me. My mind was controlling me instead of me controlling my mind. This leads to disaster. And this was the thing that was not happening to me alone but to a majority of people in my time. However much I tried I kept losing myself. But then out of this pursuit of relief I stumbled upon an exercise which changed everything. Simply everything. Slowly and slowly I started to take control over my mind. I will share the exact exercise with you people but before that lets understand what makes people lose their mind. It is the “TRASH”. We got a lot of trash stored in our mind which keeps us from thinking and doing what we are meant to do. It is the trash from the past and the future. We regret our past or we live in its glory and also we are worried about the future. We are so sure that if we achieve what we wanna achieve, we can be the happiest people around. And in this process we lose our present worrying “what if I cant??”. And even if we do achieve somehow, we ask “What now??” or “Was it worth all the worry??”.

So the right thing to do is “stay out of your mind”. Simply come out of it. You can visualize your mind as a T.V. set always playing something or the other. Your happiness, your bad times, your deep dark secrets are always being played on the screen. And you are just looking. So what you gotta do is don’t look at the screen inside your head. Look at the screen outside of it. That is through your eyes, into the world, around you. Be fully aware of your environment, of all the movements around you and all the sounds. Try to grasp every detail through your eyes and ears and nose and skin. Just try this out and you will realize that a lot of activity is going on in this world each and every second. No moment is ordinary and lifeless. The trash in our mind makes it look like that. The nature is filled with activity.

So what did I do when I realized this? I went out of my room at around 9:00p.m.and started walking on the road. At first I was filled with the thoughts I was engaging in and then consciously and forcibly I started to look around for details. I tried to guess the speed of a passing bicycle and smelled the fragrance from a nearby dhaba. I tried to hear each and every sound in the area. The blowing of taxi horns to the hiss noise created by lowering the noodles into the oil and the distant barking of dogs. I felt like I was aware of every sound coming to my ears and every movement in the span of my eyes. Then suddenly I tried to feel the wind on my skin. I tried to guess its direction. So there I was clutching every detail from my environment all at once. I then saw the beauty in so ordinary things. How the red street poster was inclined, the pavement broken in a very strange way, a cloth at the top of a building fluttering in the breeze, the boy holding on to his girl as if nothing else mattered, the auto-wallahs counting the collection of the day. Everything was so extra-ordinary. I felt so stupid as I had never realized this beauty before. And after around so much time had passed while I was doing this, I realized that I was not thinking anything during that time. I was not concerned about anything, neither the past nor the present. I was living that very moment in “the very moment”. It was a heavenly experience. I experienced happiness in its true form after years. I was literally “out of my mind”. I was in nature. This was meditation. Meditation in its easiest form. You are aware of everything without any iota of worry or ambition or revenge or fear or attachments or addiction. You are there LIVING.

I wish I can live my life this way always and I wish the same thing for all of you because now you all must have realized that the journey is much more important than the destination!!!!

3 thoughts on “OUT OF YOUR MIND

  1. Hey its really amazing….keep it wid ur blogs…..we human beings r so bg in our lyf tat we dunt hav tym 2 stnd n stare the beauty of the nature….bt thrugh ur blogs hop people realize tat its equally imprtnt 2 knw wat iz happng arund….keep it uppp….

Leave a comment